As a New Jersey resident who’s interested in adopting, you have many adoption options, and this is the perfect place to begin exploring them. Below, you’ll find adoption agencies and adoption lawyers offering services in your state. Scroll past the listings to see New Jersey adoption laws and policies.
NEW JERSEY ADOPTION LAWS & STATUTES
Each state maintains its own adoption policies, so the process can vary considerably for families, from state to state. Learn all about the legal guidelines for families adopting in New Jersey, whether you’re adopting a newborn through domestic, private adoption, an infant or older child from U.S. foster care adoption, or an infant, toddler, or older child through international adoption. Find answers to the most common questions about New Jersey adoptions.
WHO CAN ADOPT IN NEW JERSEY?
An individual 18 years or older who is at least 10 years older than the child, a married couple, a married individual without his or her spouse if living separately, or the child’s brother, sister, aunt, uncle, grandparent, birth father, or stepparent.