As a Illinois resident who’s interested in adopting, you have many adoption options, and this is the perfect place to begin exploring them. Below, you’ll find adoption agencies and adoption lawyers offering services in your state. Scroll past the listings to see Illinois adoption laws and policies.
ILLINOIS ADOPTION LAWS & STATUTES
Each state maintains its own adoption policies, so the process can vary considerably for families, from state to state. Learn all about the legal guidelines for families adopting in Illinois, whether you’re adopting a newborn through domestic, private adoption, an infant or older child from U.S. foster care adoption, or an infant, toddler, or older child through international adoption. Find answers to the most common questions about Illinois adoptions.
WHO CAN ADOPT IN ILLINOIS?
An adult who is 21 years or older with no legal disability may petition to adopt. The court may waive the age restriction for good cause. The adopting parent is required to have lived in Illinois for 6 months or more (or for 90 days if with the armed forces) if the child is not related to the adopting parent or if an agency was not involved in child placement. A married couple must petition jointly.