As a Delaware resident who’s interested in adopting, you have many adoption options, and this is the perfect place to begin exploring them. Below, you’ll find adoption agencies and adoption lawyers offering services in your state. Scroll past the listings to see Delaware adoption laws and policies.
DELAWARE ADOPTION LAWS & STATUTES
Each state maintains its own adoption policies, so the process can vary considerably for families, from state to state. Learn about Delaware’s state adoption statutes and legal requirements, whether you’re adopting a newborn through domestic, private adoption, an infant or older child from U.S. foster care adoption, or an infant, toddler, or older child through international adoption. Find answers to the most common questions about adopting in Delaware.
WHO CAN ADOPT IN DELAWARE?
A single individual, a married couple, or a divorced or legally separated person. Adopting parent/s must be 21 years of age or older. If adoptee is 18 years or older, any individual or married couple may adopt.